T-Mobile's Regulatory Programs and Telco Recovery Fee rises to $5.49 per voice line on October 12, 2026
T-Mobile's Regulatory Programs & Telco Recovery Fee goes from $4.49 to $5.49 per voice line per month on October 12, 2026, and from $2.10 to $2.60 per Mobile Internet line, according to T-Mobile's support page as read on October 11, 2026. That is $1.00 more per voice line each month, or $12.00 a year, on plans that bill the fee separately.
- Fee name on T-Mobile's page
- Regulatory Programs & Telco Recovery Fee
- Change takes effect
- October 12, 2026
- Voice line, before October 12
- $4.49 per line per month
- Voice line, from October 12
- $5.49 per line per month
- Mobile Internet line, before October 12
- $2.10 per line per month
- Mobile Internet line, from October 12
- $2.60 per line per month
- Increase per voice line
- $1.00 a month, $12.00 a year
- Who sets it
- T-Mobile; T-Mobile says it is not a government tax
Figures above were read from T-Mobile's support page "Your bill and what's impacting it" on 2026-10-11. The yearly figure is our arithmetic. See sources.
The change, line by line
T-Mobile's support page lists the fee for two kinds of lines: voice lines and Mobile Internet lines. For voice lines it now reads: "Increasing to $5.49 per line every month, effective October 12, 2026". For Mobile Internet lines it reads: "Increasing to $2.60 per line every month, effective October 12, 2026".
The page splits the old amounts between the fee's two parts, Regulatory Programs and Telco Recovery. It does not say how the new $5.49 and $2.60 are split.
| Line type | Before Oct 12, 2026 | Split of the old amount | From Oct 12, 2026 | Change per month | Change per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Voice line | $4.49 | $0.50 Regulatory Programs + $3.99 Telco Recovery | $5.49 | +$1.00 | +$12.00 |
| Mobile Internet line | $2.10 | $0.12 Regulatory Programs + $1.98 Telco Recovery | $2.60 | +$0.50 | +$6.00 |
What T-Mobile says the fee is for
T-Mobile's page says: "This fee is not a government tax or imposed by the government". It describes the money as "collected and retained by T-Mobile" to recover costs the company has incurred and continues to incur.
- The Regulatory Programs part covers the cost of funding and complying with government mandates and programs, "like E911 or local number portability".
- The Telco Recovery part covers charges other carriers impose "for delivery of calls from our customers to theirs", plus certain network facilities, operations and services.
T-Mobile's plan disclosures describe the fee as "subject to change without notice; plus tax". Universal service charges, 911 surcharges and state and local taxes are separate charges; T-Mobile's page says the 911 surcharges and the state and local taxes vary by state and locality.
What it adds up to for 1 to 5 voice lines
| Voice lines | Fee per month before Oct 12 | Fee per month from Oct 12 | Extra per month | Extra per year | Fee per year at the new rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4.49 | $5.49 | $1.00 | $12.00 | $65.88 |
| 2 | $8.98 | $10.98 | $2.00 | $24.00 | $131.76 |
| 3 | $13.47 | $16.47 | $3.00 | $36.00 | $197.64 |
| 4 | $17.96 | $21.96 | $4.00 | $48.00 | $263.52 |
| 5 | $22.45 | $27.45 | $5.00 | $60.00 | $329.40 |
Which T-Mobile plans pay it on top of the plan price
T-Mobile's support page says: "Some T-Mobile plans include recurring monthly taxes and fees in the service plan price." It adds: "For plans that have taxes and fees excluded, taxes, fees, and other charges apply." The page does not name the plans in each group. This is what T-Mobile's own plan pages and FCC broadband labels showed on October 11, 2026.
| Plan or group, as T-Mobile names it | How T-Mobile shows the fee | Where we read it |
|---|---|---|
| Experience Beyond 2.0, Experience More 2.0, Essentials 2.0, Essentials Saver 2.0, and their 55+, Military, First Responder, Student and 4-line versions | Each plan's FCC broadband label lists "Regulatory programs / Telco recovery fee $5.49/line" as a provider monthly fee (17 labels) | T-Mobile cell phone plans page |
| Experience More 2.0, Essentials 2.0, Essentials Saver 2.0 (plan terms) | "Regulatory Programs & Telco Recovery Fees totaling up to $4.49 ($5.49 eff. 10/12/26) per line" | T-Mobile 55+ plans page |
| Earlier Experience More and Experience Beyond versions, including BYO-phone, 55+, Military and First Responder versions | Label still listed $4.49 per line on October 11, 2026 | T-Mobile FCC broadband labels page |
| 5G Home Internet plans, including Rely, Amplified, All-In and AWAY | "Regulatory programs/Telco recovery fee $2.60" | T-Mobile FCC broadband labels page |
| Some data plans: Mobile Internet 6GB, 14GB, 18GB and 22GB; Unlimited Tablet | Provider monthly fees shown as "Included in monthly price" | T-Mobile FCC broadband labels page |
| Magenta MAX (launched February 2021) | Launch price described with "monthly taxes and fees included" | T-Mobile newsroom, February 22, 2021 |
| Go5G Plus (launched April 2023) | Launch release: "plus taxes and fees included"; fine print: "Sales tax and regulatory fees included in qualifying monthly rate plan price." | T-Mobile newsroom, April 20, 2023 |
Add-on services are a separate case. T-Mobile's support page says taxes and fees apply separately to add-ons such as Stateside International Talk and Text, Global Plus, and Family Mode, "even for customers with service plans with taxes and fees included".
When this fee last rose in April 2025, T-Mobile told Droid Life that customers with taxes and fees included in their plans were not affected (reported by Droid Life on April 8, 2025). We did not find a current T-Mobile page that lists every plan with taxes and fees included.
Home internet lines
T-Mobile's support page names only voice lines and Mobile Internet lines. Its FCC broadband labels for 5G Home Internet plans, including Rely, Amplified, All-In and AWAY, list "Regulatory programs/Telco recovery fee $2.60" under provider monthly fees as of October 11, 2026. That matches the new Mobile Internet amount.
The footnote printed on those same labels still gives the totals in place before October 12: $4.49 for voice lines and $2.10 for Mobile Internet lines. A few home internet plans, such as the AWAY--Unlimited Plan, show provider monthly fees as included in the monthly price.
Price Lock and the 5-Year Price Guarantee
T-Mobile's price promotion FAQ says: "Taxes and fees are not covered by 5-Year Price Guarantee, Price Lock, or Un-contract." The same FAQ says the 5-Year Price Guarantee fixes the monthly price for talk, text and 5G data, and lists taxes and fees among its exclusions. A plan price covered by these promotions does not fix this fee.
Earlier changes to this fee
| Effective date | Voice line | Mobile Internet line | How we confirmed it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Before April 23, 2025 (seen December 2023 to February 2025) | $3.49 ($0.50 + $2.99) | $1.40 ($0.12 + $1.28) | T-Mobile's support page as captured by the Internet Archive on Dec 25, 2023, Feb 27, 2024, Nov 2, 2024 and Feb 10, 2025 |
| April 23, 2025 | $3.99 ($0.50 + $3.49) | $1.60 ($0.12 + $1.48) | Reported by Droid Life on April 8, 2025, quoting T-Mobile's support page; split as quoted by Droid Life on January 7, 2026 |
| January 21, 2026 | $4.49 ($0.50 + $3.99) | $2.10 ($0.12 + $1.98) | Reported by Droid Life on January 7, 2026, quoting T-Mobile's support page; amounts match the current page |
| October 12, 2026 | $5.49 (split not stated) | $2.60 (split not stated) | T-Mobile's support page, read 2026-10-11 |
Across these steps the voice-line fee went from $3.49 to $5.49, or $2.00 more per line each month ($24.00 a year). In April 2025, T-Mobile told Droid Life that the April 2025 increase was the first since 2022 (reported by Droid Life on April 8, 2025).
What we could not confirm
- How T-Mobile splits the new $5.49 and $2.60 between Regulatory Programs and Telco Recovery. The support page gives the split only for the old amounts.
- The April 23, 2025 and January 21, 2026 dates against T-Mobile's own archived page. We read four Internet Archive captures of T-Mobile's page (December 2023 to February 2025); later requests to the Internet Archive were refused as automated traffic, so those two dates rest on Droid Life's quotes of T-Mobile's page.
- A current T-Mobile list of every plan that has taxes and fees included. We looked at the support page, the plans pages, the FCC broadband labels page and the price promotion FAQ.
- Whether a bill that covers part of October is prorated between the old and new amounts. None of the T-Mobile pages we read says.
- Whether smartwatch (wearable) lines pay this fee, and at what amount. T-Mobile's support page names only voice lines and Mobile Internet lines.
- How and when T-Mobile notified customers. We did not find a T-Mobile notice page for this change.
Questions
When does the T-Mobile fee increase take effect?
How much is the T-Mobile Regulatory Programs & Telco Recovery Fee per line?
Is the Regulatory Programs & Telco Recovery Fee a government tax?
Does T-Mobile's Price Lock or 5-Year Price Guarantee cover this fee?
Do plans with taxes and fees included pay the increase?
Sources
- Fee amounts, effective date, description and split - T-Mobile Support: Your bill and what's impacting it, read 2026-10-11
- Plan labels ($5.49/line), "plus tax" disclosure - T-Mobile: Cell phone plans, read 2026-10-11
- Plan terms with "$5.49 eff. 10/12/26" - T-Mobile: 55+ plans, read 2026-10-11
- Home internet, data plan and earlier Experience plan labels - T-Mobile: FCC Broadband Facts labels, read 2026-10-11
- Price Lock and 5-Year Price Guarantee exclusions - T-Mobile: Price Lock FAQs, read 2026-10-11
- Magenta MAX launch, February 22, 2021 - T-Mobile Newsroom, read 2026-10-11
- Go5G and Go5G Plus launch, April 20, 2023 - T-Mobile Newsroom, read 2026-10-11
- T-Mobile's support page as captured on December 25, 2023 - Internet Archive, read 2026-10-11
- T-Mobile's support page as captured on February 10, 2025 - Internet Archive, read 2026-10-11
- Reported by Droid Life, April 8, 2025 (April 23, 2025 change; T-Mobile statement) - Droid Life, read 2026-10-11
- Reported by Droid Life, January 7, 2026 (January 21, 2026 change) - Droid Life, read 2026-10-11
Source links are not affiliate links. This page is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.